Is Rice Gluten Free?
Plain rice — regardless of whether it's whole-grain brown rice, polished white rice, long-grained basmati rice or even exotic black rice — is always considered gluten-free. Even glutinous rice, also known as sticky rice or sweet rice. Despite the name, it doesn't contain the form of gluten that's dangerous for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance; the term "glutinous" refers to the fact that the rice gets sticky when cooked.
Wild rice blends are usually safe, but its always good to double-check.
The Savor Culinary community is a collection of families and individuals who are concerned about what they eat and interested in dietary issues surrounding adjusting to a gluten free diet for those with Celiac disease, adjusting to a dairy free diet or other diets that accommodate allergies, eating to boost the immune system for those recovering from recent illness such as cancer and general healthy eating habits.
Savor has created a holistic system by which their clients can learn to enjoy eating again through education, dietary coaching and personalized chef services. We encourage you to use these resources to learn more!
Disclaimer: Information on these FAQ pages is intended for general informational use and does not constitute medical advice, medical diagnosis, or medical treatment. You should consult your physician or other health care professional before making any changes in your diet or exercise regimen. There is no warranty on this information and no liability is assumed by the author or any group for the recommendations, information, dietary suggestions, menus, and recipes included herein. Products mentioned or omitted do not constitute endorsement.
Serving Fort Worth, Arlington, Mansfield, Keller, Colleyville, Southlake, Dallas and surrounding areas