Food
Sensitivities

We offer clients personalized guidance every day to specifically address food allergies, sensitivities and dietary requirements.

We thought having the answers to some common allergy questions that we hear all the time, might be useful to a broader audience. Our goal is to create a resource for you, so that when you are cooking at home, you can use this knowledge to create delicious, healthy meals for you or your family. If you have specific questions or products you’d like more information about, please let us know so we can expand this resource.

Hummus

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Are potatoes gluten free?

Fresh, plain potatoes are gluten-free and there are many ways to prepare them to maintain their gluten-free status, however, many potato recipes do contain ingredients that could change this status. It’s important to ask about the preparation to be sure that the potatoes you are consuming are safe for a gluten-free diet. For example, sometimes french fries are coated in flour before they are cooked, or other fried items coated in batter that contains flour may have been cooked in the same oil, causing your fries to no longer be gluten free.

MORE INFO

Is quinoa gluten free?

Quinoa is a gluten-free grain. It is also high in fiber and provides a complete protein. However, we encourage you to check the label since the packaging process of some companies may allow for some cross contamination. Also to note, there are several species of quinoa and some people have experienced digestive issues with quinoa.

MORE INFO

Is popcorn gluten free?

Popcorn, along with all other types of corn, is gluten-free. However, that is just the corn popped in oil. Be sure to check the label because some flavorings, spices, seasonings, etc., may contain gluten. Popcorn is a naturally healthy snack, but only if you are careful not to add large amounts of oil, salt or sugar, whether you are gluten intolerant or not!

MORE INFO

Is oatmeal gluten free?

The short answer is yes, pure, non-contaminated oats are gluten-free. However, a lot of the oatmeal brands on the market are not pure and may contain oats that have been cross-contaminated with wheat, barley or rye. This cross-contamination with grains that do have gluten, means that you need to check labels very carefully in order to make sure they will fit into your gluten-free diet.  Unfortunately, oats can also be cross-contaminated in the field before they ever become oatmeal, so be sure to choose a variety of oatmeal that has been certified gluten-free.

MORE INFO

Is ranch dressing gluten free?

Commercially prepared ranch dressing in a bottle usually contains a vegetable oil such as soybean or canola oil, water, eggs, sugar, buttermilk, vinegar, salt natural and/or artificial flavors, spices, xantham gum and preservatives.

Some manufacturers add gluten, such as wheat flour as a thickener. There can also be cross contamination during the manufacturing process. Look for “gluten free” labels underneath the ingredients list or somewhere on the back but when in doubt, it is best to avoid ranch dressing found in a grocery store.

Try Savor’s easy homemade ranch dressing

RECIPE

Is pizza gluten free?

Traditional pizza crust is flour based and therefor not gluten-free.  But since pizza is such a favorite food for so many people, there are increasingly more recipes for gluten-free pizza crust out there.

GLUTEN FREE PIZZA

Is rice gluten free?

Plain rice — regardless of whether it’s whole-grain brown rice, polished white rice, long-grained basmati rice or even exotic black rice — is always considered gluten-free. Even glutinous rice, also known as sticky rice or sweet rice. Despite the name, it doesn’t contain the form of gluten that’s dangerous for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance; the term “glutinous” refers to the fact that the rice gets sticky when cooked.

Wild rice blends are usually safe, but its always good to double-check.

Is cornmeal gluten free?

Yes. Cornmeal is made from dried corn kernels, which does not contain wheat, barley or rye therefore making it gluten free. Though if you’re very sensitive, it is always wise to be sure the brand you purchase is processed in a gluten-free facility. Cornmeal is available in fine, medium or coarse grinds and it’s great for baking breads and muffins, or main dishes like polenta.

MORE INFO

Is almond milk Gluten Free?

Almond milk is naturally gluten-free, and most commercial brands are gluten free as well. Though you may want to check the labels on flavored almond milks to be sure there aren’t any gluten-containing additives.

MORE INFO

Is jell-o gluten free?

Kraft Jell-O is in fact gluten free, BUT, commercial processed Jello as a whole is not good for you because of all the dyes.

Try this recipe for making your own jello with fruit juice and grass-fed gelatin.  Yum!

GLUTEN-FREE JELL-O RECIPES

Is macaroni and cheese gluten free?

No, the noodles in Mac & Cheese are made with wheat flour, so they are not gluten free.  However, the cheese mix does not contain ingredients with gluten, so technically, you could use gluten free pasta with the cheese mix to make this family favorite.

But Mac & Cheese is not really good for you, so we have an even BETTER solution…Try Savor’s Gluten Free Mac ‘n Cheese with Bacon.  Once you’ve tried this recipe, you’ll never need another!

MORE INFO

FOOD SUBSTITUTIONS

What is a good flour substitute in bakek goods?

The easiest substitution is a pre-mixed gluten free blend. These have already been tested and are available at most local grocery stores. If you are feeling more adventurous you can mix your own blend. Just be sure that when your replace gluten free flour you use at least two different non gluten flours as well as a starch and measure by weight not by volume.

Gluten free flours to try: sorghum flour, amaranth flour, quinoa flour, white or brown rice flour, certified gluten free oat flour, millet flour, buckwheat flour, bean flours (like fava or garbanzo beans), coconut flour, nut/seed flours

Savor’s Favorite Blend: Angel’s Recipes Flour Blends

Examples of gluten free starches: arrowroot, tapioca, potato starch (different from potato flour), cornstarch

Try out our recipe for gluten-free pie crust or find other delicious recipes on our blog.

What is a good butter substitute in baking?

Applesauce, avocado, coconut oil are all healthy substitutes for butter in baked goods.

For more details on how different substitutions affect different baked goods try this site on No Butter Baking.

What is a good sugar / brown sugar substitute?

In baking there are many options for sugar substitutions, some of the simplest include honey, maple syrup, brown rice syrup, and molasses. Since these options are generally sweeter and “wetter” than sugar most recipes will typically require a smaller amount of the substitute and a few Tablespoons less liquid.  For example use 3/4 cup of honey to replace 1 cup of sugar and decrease the liquids by 2 Tablespoons.

What is an egg substitute?

There are many ingredients that can be subbed in for eggs. Which one works best will depend on what you are cooking. For baking try using ½ a mashed banana or 2 tbsp of ground flax seed to stand in for eggs. 

For more detailed help check out the Happy Herbivore’s Egg Substitute Cheat Sheet.

Or Cooking and Baking Without Egg Ingredients.

What is a good heavy cream substitute?

Depending on the recipe and your food allergy requirements, there are many options for substitutions. 

A couple of healthier options are Greek yogurt and a mixture of skim milk and cornstarch. Use a whisk to mix one cup skim milk and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch together until it begins to thicken.

Or try this recipe for Vegan Cashew Cream as a dairy-free option!

The Savor Culinary community is a collection of families and individuals who are concerned about what they eat and interested in dietary issues surrounding adjusting to a gluten free diet for those with Celiac disease, adjusting to a dairy free diet or other diets that accommodate allergies, eating to boost the immune system for those recovering from recent illness such as cancer and general healthy eating habits.

Savor has created a holistic system by which their clients can learn to enjoy eating again through education, dietary coaching and personalized chef services.  We encourage you to use these resources to learn more!

Contact Us 

Disclaimer: Information on these FAQ pages is intended for general informational use and does not constitute medical advice, medical diagnosis, or medical treatment. You should consult your physician or other health care professional before making any changes in your diet or exercise regimen. There is no warranty on this information and no liability is assumed by the author or any group for the recommendations, information, dietary suggestions, menus, and recipes included herein. Products mentioned or omitted do not constitute endorsement.

Malcare WordPress Security